A Fresh Faced Make Up Look

Dear Make Up Fanatic,

Make up is one of my favorite accessories, art forms, and most of all, one of my favorite methods of self-expression.

Today I am going to give you a quick a run down of my version of a fresh faced make up look accompanied with fun and “for-any-occasion” loose curls.

Here are the items I am using:

IMG_3267

From left to right: Tarte Bronzer, Nars Orgasm Blush and Contour, L’Oreal’s True Mineral Foundation, Sephora’s Dark Brown Waterproof Eyeliner, Anastasia’s Dark Brown Brow Pencil, Tarte BB Concealer Stick, Benefit Mascara “They’re Real,” Nars Orgasm Lipgloss, Smashbox CC cream, Tarte Contour Pencil, Nars Illuminator, Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics Palette

 

IMG_3286

 

From left to right: 1 inch curling iron, TRESemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo, and Garnier Fructis Ultra Strong hairspray

Hair First:

IMG_3461

 

Comb out those tangles and grab your curling iron. If you want tighter curls, you may choose to use a smaller curling iron.

IMG_3503

Divide your hair into 3 sections – 1) bottom section – closest to your neck, 2) center section, 3) the top section

Either tie back or clip up sections 2 and 3. Then divide section 1 down the center. I prefer to do things evenly on both sides of my head, so I tend to curl 3 parts on each side. I curl one away from my face, towards my face, and then away from my face. I do this in similar sections on both sides.

After I am finished with section 1, I take down section 2, and curl in the opposite directions – towards, away, towards.

The final section – section 3 – I curl in the same manner as section 1.

I allow my hair to cool while I do my make up, and will come back to it to tighten up any loose ends.

Make Up:

IMG_3486

Moisturize your lips

IMG_3502

Apply a thin layer of CC cream all over face.

Conceal blemishes and dark circles.

Set with mineral foundation.

IMG_3493

Fill in eyebrows in their natural shape – don’t over do them!

Use eyeliner to fill in sparse eyelashes – dot between lashes to give the appearance of fuller eyelashes.

Apply “Stark” from the Naked 2 Basics Palette all over your lids using a fluffy eye shadow brush.

Then using an angled brush, apply “Cover” at the outer corners of your eyes and sweep them up towards your crease, going only about a third of the way in. If you want more definition, you may use “Primal” instead, but because I wanted it to look more natural, I chose a lighter color.

Finally, use the angled brush again and use “Primal” or “Undone” – depending on what you used on the last step – and line the outer corners of your water line and your lid. Only go a third of the way on top and bottom. We do this only so that we have the illusion of thicker eyelashes.

Now, curl your eyelashes and apply no more than 2 clean coats of mascara.

IMG_3517

To finish, define your nose using the contouring pencil by drawing lines near the bridge of your nose. Blend with your finger and then take the illuminator and highlight the center of the bridge. Using the bronzer, apply along jawline, right underneath the apples of your cheeks and right around your temples. Apply a little bit of blush on the apples of your cheeks. Put on some lipgloss, and you’re finished!

If you have any questions, leave me comments!

xoxo,

A fellow make up addict

PS – what works for me may not work for you – I don’t claim to be a professional, but I do love a good clean make up look, so try it out and let me know!

One thought on “A Fresh Faced Make Up Look

  1. Pingback: Fresh Faced | Dear Girl

Leave a Reply

